Commonly known as Cobble Hall, Leeds Golf Club is an 18-hole parkland course situated on the north side of Leeds. Founded in 1896 it was the original home of Golf's oldest professional tournament - the Leeds Cup - holders of which range from Harry Vardon to Howard Clark. Its par of 69 is rarely beaten even in scratch competitions. Only four miles from the centre of the city the course has a distinctly rural feel. Visitors are warmly welcomed.
We have a thriving Ladies and Junior Sections and we actively encourage new Members.
There have been several alterations to the original layout, chiefly in the early 1900's by the renowned golf club architect Dr. Alastair MacKenzie and again in 1928 when the Leeds ring road was constructed there were major design alterations.
A mature parkland course with well wooded undulations and its' picturesque situation. The course provides a variety of ineresting and testing golf. The par of 69 is often not beaten, even in scratch tournaments. Notable holes are the 7th, 14th and the 15th. The seventh, widely regarded as one of the most beautiful in the county, provides a satisfying but testing tee shot from the plateau tee with a second shot to a well designed and double tiered green guarded by bunkers and gorse.
Whilst nowadays the Quarry, after which the 14th is named, is not so much in play, nevertheless it remains an excellent par 5 with alternatives of a gamble at "going over" with second or a blind third shot. Tribulation (15th) is well named. A tee shot of 172 yards has to negotiate an avenue of trees not more than 30 yards wide to a green set on a 40 yard high plateau. This is the hole for which the course is most remembered by visiting golfers, who are most welcome at all times of the year.
Sorry, this club has not added their Greefee information.
Sorry, this club has not added their Membership prices.